Manitoba.—The Manitoba Power Commission was established in 1919 for the purpose of distributing electric energy throughout the province, with the exception of the Metropolitan Winnipeg area. An agreement, signed in 1955 by the Manitoba Hydro-Electric Board, the City of Winnipeg, the Winnipeg Electric Company and The Manitoba Power Commission, provided for the acquisition by the Commission of the distribution properties of the Winnipeg Electric Company and of the City of Winnipeg Hydro Electric System in the suburban areas adjacent to the city. The transfer of these properties became effective Apr. 1, 1955. The utility currently operates under The Manitoba Power Commission Act (R.S.M. 1954, c. 203), as amended.

The Commission's supply of electric energy for distribution is purchased from the Manitoba Hydro-Electric Board at various points in or near Winnipeg. The Commission has gradually acquired virtually all the municipally owned and local privately owned distributing plants within the province and now supplies service from a widespread network of transmission lines. A program of rural electrification, started in the late 1930's and designed to bring hydro-electric power at uniform service rates to all rural centres with a population of 20 or over, has been completed and currently serves 524 centres. The Commission also serves 41,578 farms. The Commission took over the diesel generating plant and local distribution system at The Pas in northern Manitoba during 1958.

Plant additions recently completed or under way in Manitoba are outlined on p. 559.

Saskatchewan.—The Saskatchewan Power Corporation was established Feb. 1, 1949, and now operates under the provisions of the Power Corporation Act, 1950 (S.S. 1950, c. 10) as amended. It succeeded the Saskatchewan Power Commission which operated from Feb. 11, 1929 to Jan. 31, 1949. The original functions of the Corporation included the generation, transmission, distribution, sale and supply of hydro and steam electric energy. Since 1952 the Corporation has been authorized to produce or purchase, and to transmit, distribute, sell and supply natural or manufactured gas.

In 1957 the Corporation served 865 urban communities (with six or more customers) in retail sales, as well as the cities of Saskatoon, Swift Current and Weyburn, the town of Battleford, and the hamlet of Waskesiu in bulk sales. Activities of the Corporation are extended to the entire province with the exception of such cities as Regina, which owns and operates municipal plants and a distribution system, and Moose Jaw, where the local plant and distribution system is owned and operated by National Light and Power Company Limited.

At the end of 1957 the Corporation served 178,567 customers, 146,994 of whom were retail customers and 31,573 of whom were located in communities supplied with power through bulk sales. The retail customers included 102,249 urban customers and 44,745 customers classified as rural, predominantly farmers. During 1957 all customers absorbed 780,613,534 kwh. of which 742,983,567 kwh. were generated in Corporation plants and 37,629,967 kwh. were bought in bulk from Regina and from National Light and Power utilities. At the end of the year the Saskatchewan Government had invested a total of \$142,451,682 in Corporation electric and natural gas assets.

During 1957 the Corporation owned and operated three steam generating plants at Estevan, Prince Albert and Saskatoon, which supplied 80 p.c. of total system power requirements, and three gas and dual fuel plants at Kindersley, Swift Current and Unity, which supplied most of the remainder. Four small diesel plants (at Yorkton, Meadow Lake, Maple Creek and Hudson Bay) acted as standby plants and supplied less than 0.5 p.c. Total system capability at the end of 1957 was assessed at 235,720 kw. with 200,000 kw. located in steam plants, 30,000 kw. in gas and dual fuel installations and 5,720 kw. in diesel plants.

By the end of 1957 the Corporation owned and operated 53,800 miles of transmission and rural lines. Of the total, 6,500 miles of line were added in 1957, comprising 175 miles of 72,000-volt line, 75 miles of 25,000-volt line, and 6,250 miles of 14,400-volt farm line for rural electrification. Ninety miles of three-phase transmission line for service to oilfields